Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Chair

Sebastiano Battiato
University of Catania

Brief Bio
Sebastiano Battiato received his degree in computer science (summa cum laude) in 1995 from University of Catania and his Ph.D. in computer science and applied mathematics from University of Naples in 1999. From 1999 to 2003 he was the leader of the “Imaging” team at STMicroelectronics in Catania. He joined the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science at the University of Catania as assistant professor in 2004 and became associate professor in the same department in 2011. His research interests include image enhancement and processing, image coding, camera imaging technology and multime dia forensics. He has edited 6 books and co-authored more than 150 papers in international journals, conference proceedings and book chapters. He is a co-inventor of about 15 international patents, reviewer for several international journals, and he has been regularly a member of numerous international conference committees. Prof. Battiato has participated in many international and national research projects. Chair of several international events (IWCV2012, ECCV2012, VISAPP 2012-2013-2014, ICIAP 2011, ACM MiFor 2010-2011, SPIE EI Digital Photography 2011-2012-2013, etc.). He is an associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and System for Video Technology and of the SPIE Journal of Electronic Imaging. Guest editor of the following special issues: "Emerging Methods for Color Image and Video Quality Enhancement" published on EURASIP Journal on Image and Video Processing (2010) and "Multimedia in Forensics, Security and Intelligence" published on IEEE Multimedia Magazine (2012). He is the recipient of the 2011 Best Associate Editor Award of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology. He is director (and co-founder) of the International Computer Vision Summer School (ICVSS), Sicily, Italy. He is a senior member of the IEEE. ... More >>


Harry Agius, Brunel University London, United Kingdom
Rajeev Agrawal, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, United States
Zahid Akthar, University of Cagliari, Italy
Gabriele Anderst-Kotsis, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
Ramazan Aygun, University of Alabama in Huntsville, United States
Nicholas Bambos, Stanford University, United States
Arvind Bansal, Kent State University, United States
Chokri Ben Amar, REsearch Group on Intelligent Machines (REGIM), Tunisia
Chidansh Bhatt, FX Palo Alto Laboratory, Inc, United States
Adrian Bors, University of York, United Kingdom
Christian Breiteneder, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Enrique Cabello, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Wai-Kuen Cham, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
Amitava Chatterjee, Jadavpur University, India
Jianwen Chen, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China
Wei Cheng, Garena Online Pte. Ltd., Singapore
Bin Cheng, NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany
Cristina Conde, University Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Kaushik Das Sharma, University of Calcutta, India
Carl Debono, University of Malta, Malta
Magda El Zarki, University of California Irvine, United States
Khaled El-Maleh, Qualcomm, United States
Giovanni Farinella, Università di Catania, Italy
Zongming Fei, University of Kentucky, United States
Mohamed Fouad, Arab Academy for Science, Technology, and Maritime Transport, Egypt
Jakub Galka, University of Science and Technology, Poland
Jerry Gibson, University of California Santa Barbara, United States
Seiichi Gohshi, Kogakuin University, Japan
Minglun Gong, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
William Grosky, University of Michigan - Dearborn, United States
Rajarshi Gupta, University of Calcutta, India
Ofer Hadar, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Malka Halgamuge, The University of Melbourne, Australia
Emmanuel Ifeachor, Plymouth University, United Kingdom
Razib Iqbal, Missouri State University, United States
Li-Wei Kang, National Yunlin University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
Sokratis Katsikas, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Chih-Heng Ke, National Quemoy University, Taiwan
Markus Koskela, University of Helsinki, Finland
Constantine Kotropoulos, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Konrad Kowalczyk, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
Adnane Latif, Cadi Ayyad University, Morocco
Choong-Soo Lee, St. Lawrence University, United States
Chengqing Li, Xiangtan University, China
Zitao Liu, University of Pittsburgh, United States
Guifeng Liu, Electrical and Computer Engineering, United States
Zhu Liu, AT&T, United States
Martin Lopez-Nores, University of Vigo, Spain
Hong Man, Stevens Institute of Technology, United States
Manuel Marin-Jimenez, University of Cordoba, Spain
Daniela Moctezuma, Conacyt (CentroGEO), Mexico
Chamin Morikawa, Morpho, Inc., Japan
Alejandro Murua, University of Montreal, Canada
Noel O’Connor, Dublin City University, Ireland
Vincent Oria, NJIT, United States
Ioannis Paliokas, Centre for Research and Technolgoy - Hellas, Greece
Ioannis Pratikakis, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
Guoping Qiu, University of Nottingham, China
Peter Quax, Hasselt University, Belgium
Paula Queluz, Instituto Superior Técnico - Instituto de Telecomunicações, Portugal
Simon Romano, University of Napoli, Italy
Luis Rosales, CONACYT-Universidad Michoacana de San Nicolás de Hidalgo, Mexico
Simone Santini, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain
John Smith, IBM TJ Watson Research Center, United States
Li Song, Institute of Image Communication and Network Engineering, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Lifeng Sun, Tsinghua University, China
Andrew Sung, University of Southern Mississippi, United States
Tanveer Syeda-Mahmood, IBM Almaden Research Center, United States
George Tsihrintzis, University of Piraeus, Greece
Aristeidis Tsitiridis, University Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Iván Vidal, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Sudanthi Wijewickrama, University of Melbourne, Australia
Sanjeewa Witharana, Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, Germany
Hongxun Yao, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
Kim-hui Yap, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Chang Yoo, KAIST, Korea, Republic of
Yongxin Zhang, Qualcomm R&D, United States
Bartosz Ziolko, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland

(list not yet complete)